Cellular Pathology

The Gynaecological Cytology Screening Service and the Department of Cellular Pathology are accredited with the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) in accordance with International Standard ISO 15189:2012. Accreditation is limited to those activities described on our UKAS schedule of accreditation found on the UKAS website, www.ukas.com Refs: 9371 and 9337.


The Cellular Pathology Department includes Histopathology, Cytopathology and the Mortuary.

To look for sample requirements and reference ranges for a particular test use the A to Z links or search function.

Histopathology (RSCH)


Cytopathology (RSCH)

Cervical samples

Non-gynaecological specimens


Cellular Pathology (PRH)




Mortuary (RSCH)


Cellular Pathology contact numbers

Main switchboards: RSCH 01273 696955

PRH 01444 441881

General enquiries and results


Histology RSCH

ext.4110 (no direct line)

Queries can be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
This address is monitored by the histology secretaries who will direct the enquiry to the correct member of staff.

Cytology RSCH

ext. 4414

01273 664414 (direct line)

Histology/Cytology PRH

ext. 8226

Consultants and Advanced Practitioners

Dr. Mark Taylor

ext. 4501

Dr. Marco Vergine

ext. 4540

Lindsey Dixon (AP)

ext. 3049

Dr. Jennifer Else

ext. 3068

Dr. Mara Quante

ext. 4672

Lyn Jenkins (Clinical Cytologist)

ext. 4409

Dr. David Wright

ext. 4411

Dr. Kimberley Allan

ext. 4673

Dr. Catherine Guy

ext. 664626


Head BMS

ext. 4592 (RSCH)

Main laboratory RSCH

ext. 4591

Main laboratory PRH

ext. 8226

Electron Microscopy RSCH

ext. 4616

Immunocytochemistry, RSCH

ext. 4625

Cytopathology (RSCH)

Lyn Jenkins

Head BMS, Clinical Cytologist

ext. 4409


ext. 4414




01273 696955 ext. 4144


01444 441881 ext.8449